Never assume anything.....

sam

Active member
Joined
Jun 29, 2016
Messages
119
Reaction score
75
Points
28
Well I am a little embarrassed to post this but our forum is supposed to help us all so I hope my experience can avoid a mistake by some of you out there.

A year and a half ago I had a custom big 30 cal built by a well known and respected gunsmith. I paid a little extra for load development and I had a scope sent to him so he could set everything up. The rifle arrived right before the season started and it came with a target showing it shooting in the 3s. It arrived with the ATACR mounted and sitting on my Terminus KRATOS and a 20 MOA Picatinny I got it right before the season last year and really never had time to put a load together that I was confident with. The load data provided just would not shoot. I took it to Montana and Colorado. Shot an antelope with it but it was just not shooting as it should .

Fast forward to this year. I have been shooting the rifle for the past three weeks trying to get a load that shoots like the rifle should be capable of. I would get 2 in a hole and then throw a flier. I did ladders with 230s and 245s and things were just not consistent. Finally I switched to 215s trying to make something work. Tonight as I was cleaning the rifle I grabbed it by the scope and I could feel it wobble. Yes the rail was loose. I could not believe it. I made a really bad assumption (I do know the old adage about assumptions and it fits here..) I thought that the custom gun would have had the rail bedded by the gunsmith. I was totally wrong and it has cost me tons of components and frustrations beyond belief. I should have checked. I am really disappointed and mostly with myself. I should have pulled the rail off and ensured it was bedded. Tonight I reviewed Jeff's video on rail bedding and just finished the job. I do not know if this will fix my issues with this rifle, but for sure, a loose rail was doing nothing to help my efforts....

Trust but verify guys.....

 

Ladd

LRO Field Editor/Precision Hand loading Specialist
Joined
Mar 17, 2019
Messages
6,208
Reaction score
7,554
Points
113
Location
Utah
…Drop the mic.
 

Spreedizzle

Well-known member
Joined
May 5, 2019
Messages
1,369
Reaction score
1,727
Points
113
Location
Cleveland Ohio
Trust but verify…..my fave Reagan quote.
Sorry for the frustration, but glad you ultimately found the issue and now the solution. Hope it gets to shooting like you know it should.
 

Gord0

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 11, 2017
Messages
623
Reaction score
523
Points
93
Location
Michigan
Glad you found it, sorry you wasted so many components. I will always be a huge proponent of steel rails with recoil lugs, bedded in devcon, with locktite on the screws.
 

FEENIX

Active member
Joined
Feb 25, 2016
Messages
197
Reaction score
112
Points
43
Location
Great Falls, MT
Well I am a little embarrassed to post this but our forum is supposed to help us all so I hope my experience can avoid a mistake by some of you out there.

A year and a half ago I had a custom big 30 cal built by a well known and respected gunsmith. I paid a little extra for load development and I had a scope sent to him so he could set everything up. The rifle arrived right before the season started and it came with a target showing it shooting in the 3s. It arrived with the ATACR mounted and sitting on my Terminus KRATOS and a 20 MOA Picatinny I got it right before the season last year and really never had time to put a load together that I was confident with. The load data provided just would not shoot. I took it to Montana and Colorado. Shot an antelope with it but it was just not shooting as it should .

Fast forward to this year. I have been shooting the rifle for the past three weeks trying to get a load that shoots like the rifle should be capable of. I would get 2 in a hole and then throw a flier. I did ladders with 230s and 245s and things were just not consistent. Finally I switched to 215s trying to make something work. Tonight as I was cleaning the rifle I grabbed it by the scope and I could feel it wobble. Yes the rail was loose. I could not believe it. I made a really bad assumption (I do know the old adage about assumptions and it fits here..) I thought that the custom gun would have had the rail bedded by the gunsmith. I was totally wrong and it has cost me tons of components and frustrations beyond belief. I should have checked. I am really disappointed and mostly with myself. I should have pulled the rail off and ensured it was bedded. Tonight I reviewed Jeff's video on rail bedding and just finished the job. I do not know if this will fix my issues with this rifle, but for sure, a loose rail was doing nothing to help my efforts....

Trust but verify guys.....
It makes you a better person (humble and honest) to admit and share your experience as a learning/reminder to us all.

Ed
 

Armassi

New member
Joined
Jul 15, 2021
Messages
13
Reaction score
9
Points
3
We had a saying in the corps. Inspect do not expect.
Glad you found it before hunting season. Bummer about the loss of components and sanity.

Sent from my SM-G991U using Tapatalk
 

FURMAN

LRO Rifle and Gear Review Editor
Staff member
Joined
May 27, 2015
Messages
3,610
Reaction score
3,656
Points
113
Location
Emporia Ks
Well I am a little embarrassed to post this but our forum is supposed to help us all so I hope my experience can avoid a mistake by some of you out there.

A year and a half ago I had a custom big 30 cal built by a well known and respected gunsmith. I paid a little extra for load development and I had a scope sent to him so he could set everything up. The rifle arrived right before the season started and it came with a target showing it shooting in the 3s. It arrived with the ATACR mounted and sitting on my Terminus KRATOS and a 20 MOA Picatinny I got it right before the season last year and really never had time to put a load together that I was confident with. The load data provided just would not shoot. I took it to Montana and Colorado. Shot an antelope with it but it was just not shooting as it should .

Fast forward to this year. I have been shooting the rifle for the past three weeks trying to get a load that shoots like the rifle should be capable of. I would get 2 in a hole and then throw a flier. I did ladders with 230s and 245s and things were just not consistent. Finally I switched to 215s trying to make something work. Tonight as I was cleaning the rifle I grabbed it by the scope and I could feel it wobble. Yes the rail was loose. I could not believe it. I made a really bad assumption (I do know the old adage about assumptions and it fits here..) I thought that the custom gun would have had the rail bedded by the gunsmith. I was totally wrong and it has cost me tons of components and frustrations beyond belief. I should have checked. I am really disappointed and mostly with myself. I should have pulled the rail off and ensured it was bedded. Tonight I reviewed Jeff's video on rail bedding and just finished the job. I do not know if this will fix my issues with this rifle, but for sure, a loose rail was doing nothing to help my efforts....

Trust but verify guys.....
I have seen it on EVERY rifle I have had with a non integral rail. If I am going to shoot a rifle with a non integral rail I glue it on with JB and red loctite the screws.
 

Jump-High-235

New member
Joined
Sep 3, 2022
Messages
12
Reaction score
9
Points
3
Archery hunting has taught me (the hard way) the discipline that needs to go into analyzing every aspect of shot accuracy. From mental preparation, to physical discipline, to components (i.e. load development), to inspecting every "joint" in the system, when things are not performing as expected. Anytime i have focused on only one aspect and not been able to quickly resolve the inaccuracy, I have been surprised to find that if I would just walk through every aspect I find the issue somewhere else. We all do it. Maybe just a good reminder that if a few simple attempts to fix an perceived issue do not resolve it, back up, take a breath, and inspect every other aspect of the system and process. BTW, this is just advice to myself. LOL.
 

Gabulldog91

Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2020
Messages
53
Reaction score
23
Points
8
Thank you for posting. Literally just had the same thing happen to Me. Probably would have done the same thing you did. Post made eme double check the action screes, pic rail, brake and so on.

Front half of pic rail was loose. Turned my sub moa load into a shotgun at 1000 yards.
 

ABC1000

Active member
Joined
Dec 27, 2017
Messages
425
Reaction score
217
Points
43
I’m not even embarrassed to say that’s happened at least three times to me and if it hadn’t happened I wouldn’t be bedding everything not integral… if there was an easy button I’d push it every time and it takes me realizing there isn’t one sometimes to get me to take the extra effort… not ideal but 100% true with most things for me.

 

Forum Sponsors

Top