Lightweight Custom Hunting Rifle

custom newbie

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am fairly new to the long range custom world. Me and my buddy have decided to assemble and rifle and get someone to build it for us.
The real question is what barrel, action, stock and trigger to buy.

We are trying to create a sub 6.8 pound lightweight hunting rifle. 300 Winchester Magnum.

Stock: Proof Lightweight Carbon Stock 21 oz

Barrel: Proof barell

Action: We are really big Rem 700 action facts. So we are between Terminus Kratos Lite or Defiance Deviant GA Hunter

Trigger: Triggertech

We need your input as to what y'all think about this setup!

Feel free to give raw feedback and who should assemble our rig.

Last edited:

rfurman24

LRO Rifle and Gear Review Editor
Staff member
Reaction score
We really need to know your expectations and shooting situations. A 6.5lb 300Win is a handful regardless of experience and components and will be no fun with a stock like the Proof ultra lightweight. It is just not setup to shoot long rang in any configuration and will be very apparent chambered in 300WM.

custom newbie

Reaction score
Shooting 400 yards max. Needs to be able to go to Africa and Colorado for elk. Thank you for the feedback. What are your thoughts? @rfurman24

rfurman24

Staff member
Reaction score
Shooting 400 yards max. Needs to be able to go to Africa and Colorado for elk. Thank you for the feedback. What are your thoughts? @rfurman24
My next questions would be what is your budget and do you really need a custom?

Livetohunt

Reaction score
I just did this in a 300 WSM, medium defiance action AG composites alpine hunter, 23” HCA barrel. I’m 6.5 lbs unloaded no scope. It gets expensive trying to go light.

custom newbie

Reaction score
10k and no

was about to buy a Jarrett but they don’t make any really lightweight guns

Livetohunt

Reaction score
10k? Wasn’t expecting that. Are you building 2 matching rifles?

rfurman24

Staff member
Reaction score
10k and no