Difference between shooting prone position and then from a bench?

RBanta66

Reaction score
So out shooting today I was shooting prone position. I noticed I had to dial in 2 moa higher than my app said I needed to. I was shooting my 308 with 168 ELDM mv 2745, used Magneto V3. It called for 10.06moa elevation, I had to dial 12moa. I then shot my last group from the bench not changing anything but shooting position and was exactly 2moa high??? Anyone else seen this? I'm still learning!

Sent from my moto z4 using Tapatalk

Nevada Smith

Reaction score
Was the parallax properly adjusted in each of the prone and sitting position?

Did you observe a shadow ring around the perimeter of the optic while taking the shot?

RBanta66

Reaction score
I didn't change anything as it was same distance only 30 inches up, I will check next time I get out to the range.

Last edited:

rfurman24

LRO Rifle and Gear Review Editor
Staff member
Reaction score
I would shoot another day in reverse order but I have seen up to a minute or two change depending on how you shoot prone. I rarely shoot from a bench anymore because of this. Not all setups respond the same.

RBanta66

Reaction score
I actually believe I may of adjusted my parallax. I guarantee I will not do that next time. I will also try what you said Ryan. Thanks for all the great suggestions.. I have shot this distance many times with a different rifle, but it is the first time I've seen this issue.

Greyfox

Reaction score