CVA Paramount

lbirch

Reaction score
I've been interested in a CVA Paramount since its introduction so I decided to get it from Muzzle-loaders.com when it went on sale recently. I've been waiting for a Remington bdl bottom metal to arrive from Brownells. I decided to go with new bottom metal instead of trying to shape the McMillan Game Hunter stock I bought for it in urban carbon ambush camo. My test fit of the McMillan sure does reduce a lot of weight. I heard it kicks like a 338 so I don't want to cause any damage to the McMillan and plan to put a muzzlebrake on it after bedding the stock. I plan to try 275 gr Parker Match Hunters or Ballistic Extremes in it after sizing them in the Parker smooth sided sizing die.

I'm just trying out something new and am looking for some experience. If you have any with the Paramount let me know. I have a Remington UML that I've done similar mods to so I have some experience.

lbirch

Reaction score
The Remington 700 short action bottom metal came today for the McMillan Game Hunter stock I plan to bed the CVA Paramount in. I ordered new action screws too because it seamed like the factory CVA screws might be short. The front was, the rear screw works. One thing I noticed if you're not careful the front action screw can be tightened into the breach plug threads possibly damaging them. I'll have to shorten the screw enough to be able to get a good torque on. This may be tricky.

I'm still looking for a good side discharge brake for it. Any suggestions?

lives2hunt

Reaction score
I would look at this brake if you haven't already.
Muzzleloader Muzzle Brake Sabot Friendly | Long Range Muzzleloaders and Muzzle Brakes
You should ask Levi about the match hunter bullets in the paramount also i think he tried them and said they was too small for the bore and would just fall through unless knurled.

LRC Shop Product Review: CVA Paramount
This is a first for me, so I will try to be informative, brief, and as always, brutally honest .